Huntley’s Cave

Today I was looking at Huntley’s Cave over east by Grantown-on-Spey with Neil, John and James.  It is a possible venue that MIA candidates could go to on training and assessments, so it was time I took a look at it.

Myself and James started on Diagonal VS 4C** and climbed it in 2 good pitches with the top 4b pitch being almost as hard as the first 4c pitch.  I then practiced rescuing James who was ‘stuck’ whilst coming down an abseil.

After both making it to the ground we moved onto Left Rib VDiff, Right Hand Groove VDiff*, a VDiff to the far right of the crag and then finished up Cave Route Severe 4a*** which we climbed in 3 pitches.  With good climbing all round and a few interesting moves.  Especially on the last pitch of Cave Route, where I nearly had to leave my helmet behind because it was wedged in the deep slot.

A good day out cragging in the sun and dry weather.

Comments are closed.