Damnation

Today I was out with Adam over east in the Cairngorms.  With Adam having his eye on the last route he had to do on the buttress we headed for Damnation VI,6.  With a lot of fresh snow falling the crags were quite covered and a few of the easier routes and gullies I suspect would have been interesting with the snow.  However our route being a bit steeper was fine with a small amount of fresh snow on the 1st pitch slab.  But the crux 2nd pitch had a good coating of ice in the corner crack, which made the climbing slightly easier but the gear hard to find.

Adam made speedy progress up the route and I was pleased with  my climbing, getting a bit pumped on the crux pitch, having hot aches at the same time, snow blowing in my face, it was good all round.  With good hooks on the route my feet did fall through some cruddy ice in the crux corner but my axes held, so I carried on up.

The 3rd pitch still had some interest before the top of the route, where we traversed right over easy snow slopes and came down Aladdin’s mirror back to the bags.  Another good winter day out.

Comments are closed.