Shepherd’s Crag, Borrowdale

Today I met up with Gustav who is travelling round the UK climbing venues.  We met early and headed straight for the crag, and had a good productive day.  I first led up Brown Slabs crack, a short VS to start.  After I led up Ardus a VS 4b with a very good top pitch.  Then onto Eve another very good climb at VS 4C with not much gear on the second pitch traverse which makes it interesting for both leader and second.  But a very good finger traverse for the top pitch.  I then went up Fisher’s Folly a steep VS 4C first pitch with a very exposed traverse second pitch.  A short climb but a lot of climbing. 

To end Gustav led up Little Chamonix a classic VDiff of the area.  So after about 8 hours of climbing we had done 5 routes and 13 pitches.  But the day wasn’t over yet.  I dropped Gustav off and then picked up my friend Harry for a route back at Shepherd’s called Evel Kneivel HVS 5a.  Harry went up the first pitch well and I came up with the last of my energy and then led the second pitch to the top.

So about 12 hours later, 15 pitches, 6 climbs, not bad for a sunny day in the Lakes

Comments are closed.