Ring of Steal, Glen Nevis

Today on a dryish forecast I headed out into the hills towards the Ring of Steal.  After parking my car at Lower Fall I headed up the steep slope of Sgurr  a’ Mhaim and the first peak on the horseshoe.  The lower slopes were quite damp after all rain but the weather was warm and muggy.  The further up I went the wind increased to a useful breeze and the temperature dropped so it wasn’t so close.  The clouds were just hanging over the summits so there were intermitant views over to the Ben and Stob Ban.

I then headed south along the Devils’ Ridge towards Sgurr an Lubhair which marks the first half of the scrambling.  With the clouds blowing up on the east side it was very atmospheric, with a few spots of rain as well.  After some lunch I headed round to Am Bodach which marks the most south easterly peak on the horseshoe.  With the clouds closing in the rain started to fall on my decent north, but not for long.

I made it up to the summit of An Garbhanach which has the other section of scrambling long the ridge.  This section is short but pleasant with the first proper views into Glen Nevis as well.

From the summit of An Gearanach I descended into Glen Nevis and bumped into the the first people of the day making their way up.  Once in Glen Nevis and after I had negotiated around the bog before Steal falls I made it past the tourists and onto the wire bridge.  About half an hour later and a lot of people dodging I was on the road back to Lower Falls and the car.

Comments are closed.