Ledge Route

Today I headed up Ledge Route on the Ben with Ken Applegate and a group from Outward Bound.  After leaving the top car park of the north face I headed towards the CIC hut.  With drizzle in the air and low cloud I thought I was in for a gloomy day.

After waiting a bit for the group to turn up we headed to the base of Moonlight buttress and with our ascent the clouds lifted as well.  After putting on helmets and harness on the top of Moonlight buttress we headed round the bowl of No. 5 gully and onto Ledge Route.

There were great views of people on the summit and of the north face and out to the west as well.  With gentle scrambling upwards the group did well and we made the summit of Carn Dearg in good time.

I then made my way down the Red Burn track and back across the bog to the top car park.

Ledge Route

View west to Loch Eil, I can almost see my flat.

Comments are closed.