Dinas Mot

Me on the top pitch of Western Slabs

Another dry day in Snowdonia.  Max and myself headed to Dinas Mot for the day as a semi rest day as the VS routes we had in mind are kind on the grade.  First up was Lorraine.  After linking the first two pitches I headed up a short lay back crack.  Max then had a short pitch to the last belay.  With the wind making things very cold we weren’t hanging around.  I went up the last mantel shelf pitch which was over before it started.  Then an ab decent.

Next was Western slabs on the other side of the crag. Max linked the first two pitches again with some very nice climbing up the featured slabs and bulges.  I then lead up the last and I was preparing myself at the crux for some pulling, but once a few moves were completed it was over.  Another ab decent.

Last up was the Direct Route a VS 5b.  Max again linked the first two into the scoop at half height.  I lead round on a great (but short) hand traverse and up to the ledge below the final pitch.  It starts with a few thin moves to get up to a flake.  This mounted there is either lay back moves or hugging moves to the final chimney.  A great pitch and best so far.  Another day in North Wales, 9 pitches and 3 abs.  The weather is looking settled for the next few day as well.

Comments are closed.