Raven Crag

Yesterday, with an early start we headed up to Raven Crag, a short walk behind the pub. Helen promptly headed up Evening Wall, a very nice route for its grade, with the added bonus of being in the shade. I led the second pitch with some delicate moves off from the belay, then on to the arête. A good start.

We then headed over to Bilberry Buttress. I linked the first two pitches which made for a good long pitch of 4b, 4c. The 4b hand jamming crack was excellent, with a key crimp on a chock-stone in the crack. From the ledge (belay) there is a thinner crack heading up. After working out which way to go the holds gradually got smaller and smaller until a welcome jug at the lip to pull up and over. The third pitch of 4b started off with a good lay back crack and then on to easier block climbing to the top.

For the third route of the day, with the sun starting to get really hot we headed back round to Evening wall area for another VS route. With a different character to Bilberry Buttress being face climbing I headed up towards the crux. There was good gear up until the roof in the overlap and I made my way up. With a few smears for my feet on the slab and with off balance holds I had to think a bit. I gradually made my way up leaving my gear below me on to easier ground. A good pitch but you wouldn’t want to come off on the crux with the last piece of gear under the small roof about 3 meters below. The second pitch was a pleasant 4b shallow chimney (with a few loose blocks) to easier ground to the top.

A successful weekend tip to the sunny Lakes.

Comments are closed.