Sunny Lakes!

Headed down to the Lakes today for a weekend of cragging with Helen.  The weather got better and better the further south.  With the temperatures above 15 degrees I wish I had left my belay jacket and put in shorts.  After a quick chat we headed for White Ghyll crag in Langdale and had it to ourselves: a rare occurrence in the Lakes.  I headed up Haste Not which has a very good steep slab for a first pitch, then a bold second.  With a few bits of gear on a traverse and a bad nut before the crux I made my way up.  I think for the 35 meter pitch I had 4 bits of gear.  But it was good to top out in the sun.

Helen then headed up the first pitch of The Slabs.  With fine climbing for the grade.  I then lead the other 3 ‘pitches’ in one to end with the light fading.  A good first afternoon.

Comments are closed.