One mountain at a time

Looking north

Today I headed to Glen Shiel to tackle the south ridge.  After driving the whole way in thick fog I had slight doubts when I pulled up and couldn’t even see the other side of the road.  But I kept my faith in the weather forecast and after climbing about 250m I popped out of the cloud to the white peaks and clear blue sky.  I headed up towards Creag a’ Mhaim over some very frustrating snow.  With an icy crust from the night freeze and powder underneath it was hard to get any rhythm.

Once on the top I headed west along the ridge taking in the views and the peaks along the way.  With the snow conditions improving and less powder it turned out to be a day for looking at the views.  After 4 hours along the ridge I came to Sgurr an Lochain and headed back to decend down the broarder ridge of Maolie an t-Searraich for the 4km walk back along the road to the car.  From the car back to the road 7 hrs, not bad I think.

Comments are closed.