Zigzags, Glen Coe

After remembering that I needed to see a man about a foot this morning, I started a bit later than I had arranged with Craig.  I still stuck with the same plan of heading up the zig zags on Gearr Aonach, a grade 1 scramble that is very popular in summer and winter, but one that I still had not been up.

I went up it with my MIA assessment head on, checking out the anchors above the rockier sections and how it would be best to move over them while safeguarding the seconds following.

I then walked along the top of Gearr Aonach to the base of Stob Corie nan Lochan, by the lochans.  With very little snow in the main gullies and low cloud, I decided to cut the day short and save the legs for another time, rather than heading up one of the gullies.

Hopefully, with the colder temperatures over the next few days and a bit more snow forecast to fall higher up, the winter conditions should come back over the next week.

Comments are closed.